Canon L-Series 24 – 70 vs Tamron Zoom 28-75

(one of my first test images. only light used was a small cheap home depot work light. shows sharpness and depth of field.)

Most DSLR Cameras do not come with a lens. my mom is still blown away by this and does not understand it, but most of us do – and if not – hopefully this will help. The lens is basically the tunnel your image travels down. Once reaching the end, your camera takes that information in and processes it into the image you see. Basically. This doesn’t mean if you have a “bad” lens you will take bad pictures, it just means you may have to work a little harder to get some of the quality. Just like if you have a “bad” camera it doesn’t mean you will take bad pictures.

When I got my Canon 5D I took some time reading every article I could on lenses and what people use. I knew I was in the market for a nice middle range zoom lens so that helped me narrow my search down. I found this helpful as all the options can get overwhelming. Think about what you will be using the lens for and what you need it to do.  I knew it couldn’t be possible for everyone who got a 5D to run out and got a $1,100 Canon L-Series lens with it. More than that, I was really hoping that to be true because I could not run out and spend $1,100 on a lens (refer back to the “got my 5D” sentence). Turns out I was right. A lot of people bought this Tamron zoom lens and so did I. So far I love it. This should help you understand why and see if its right for you.

For me it came down to 3 main points.

  1. It’s a 2.8 all the way through which is amazing for low light and getting depth of field.
  2. In every side by side comparison I saw the Tamron was just as sharp as the Canon.
  3. Anytime people listed a con it was that it auto-focused slow. By slow, they mean if you’re not shooting action sports 4 feet away from you… you’re more than fine.

The ONLY downside, and most of the time I don’t even think of this as a downside, is that it vignettes on the edges. Most of the time I end up adding a little more in anyways. If not, a program like Aperture is great at reversing the vignette.

Something to think about when buying a lens. Every lens manufacturer makes good lenses and bad lenses so just because its Canon doesn’t mean it’s a good one . I was told that the order of lenses went Canon L-Series, this Tamron Zoom, then the Canon 7D kit lens after that. Many people told me and wrote “for the money, you won’t get anymore bang for your buck”. More bang is always a good thing.

For everyone out there screaming “PRIME!” or “MACRO!” I hear ya. Trust me, those are amazing lenses. But for an everyday kit lens that will be versatile and provide the most coverage and uses for you – a nice zoom is KEY for anyones camera bag. And having a full frame sensor makes a huge difference so pay attention because some lenses are now saying made for crop sensors.

Final thoughts: Just like people find if they like Canon or Nikon [or something else] better, find your lens that you like working with and takes the pictures you like. Once I got over not having “CANON” on the end of my lens – it was very easy spending half the price.

Please comment and let me and others know what lenses you’re using and why. If you’re in the market to buy, ask questions and hopefully myself or someone else will be able to help you out.

For those of you interested here is a link for the lens: click here

Hope everyone is shooting this week! Challenge: Shoot something you haven’t shot before. 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

