Selling Photography Update – 50% OFF Offer Included

I’m starting to get the hang of this whole entering the online world thing. I thought real life was confusing! It has been fun, I have lost sleep, I check my iPhone for emails every 30 seconds, and I constantly check my stats. With that said, it’s been great. Just the few people I have been able to connect with so far has been amazing. I love seeing other people’s work and being able to share mine as well. It’s almost like having a street you can walk down and just see what everyone else around you is doing. If you don’t use WordPress for that, I encourage you to. Even if you’re not a seller, or a creative, or making anything you opinion almost matters the most!

If there is one thing I have a love/hate relationship with its “likes”. LOVE: the fact that I can put something up and someone likes it enough to say so, even if it is just the click of a simple button. HATE: I have no idea how much you read, what you looked at, or what you thought. It is like going into a store and giving the owner a thumbs up and then walking out. They know you liked it, but WHAT did you like. Facebook has put us in to the mind-set that we just click “like” on everything we see. Now, I don’t comment on everything I see but I try to be interactive a few times a week with people. Every experience thus far has been great and I really think I have made some of them very happy.

So now to the online store. The thing that started this all. You can read more about this in my about page but basically I graduated college a few years ago. Since then I have been making minimum payments on my loans and its going so slow that my grandchildren (I don’t even have kids yet) will be paying for it on their wedding day. I thought if I could sell photography online, even if its only some extra money a month, that could speed up the process that much faster. So, I did just that. All profits will go towards my loans. Directly to Miss Sallie Mae.

Here’s where you guys come in. We, all of us, have this wonderful amazing world at every single one of our fingertips. With the click of a button things go viral, with the donation of a few dollars on kickstarter people’s dreams come true. I need sort of a kick-start myself. I opened an ETSY store and I am slowly adding my prints up there to be available for order. If you guys are in the market for some wall art or know someone else who is I am offering 50% off my prints to start showing some sales and hopefully eventually leading to a few good reviews. This will really help when non-pressers look at my page. I don’t have all of my prints up there yet so if you have seen something here on my blog, let me know and I can upload it for you or hang in there and I will be uploading more over the next few days (it’s better to space out postings). If you would rather the same code works on my website listed below.

CLICK HERE TO VISIT MY ETSY STORE

CODE: BLUEGIRAFFEHALFOFF   EXPIRES 8/27/12

Please tweet, like, share, comment, press, blog, print out and snail mail, whatever it takes. Thank you all so much for so far keeping me encouraged on this new journey.

@bluegiraffeimgs

www.bluegiraffeimages.com

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Selling Photography Update – 50% OFF Offer Included

  1. chris9911 says:

    lol @ “..I have no idea what you liked…”, this blog is one of the most amusing blogs i’ve read in a while. I do think you are in a special case by yourself because you have awesome pictures with every blog. My guess is that most of them probably ‘like’ your photos 🙂
    I have no idea what people read either, but I guess you have to assume they are doing their best with the limited time they have…
    I think if you keep doing your posts on a regular basis, evetually your blog might even win a spot in “freshly pressed” category. This happend to a friend of mine on her 5th post, and it basically blew up her email account. I think she told me she had about 10-15k hits per day for about 4 straight days…lol. Maybe prepare yourself for that event and keep populating your store. Who knows, the one single event might pay off your college tuition…lol

    • Wow man, thank you so much for the amazing comment.

      Glad you enjoy the blog. Its kind of taking this weird and fun path with photography, tips, and things I have noticed while on this journey I’ve started.

      As far as the “like” thing – I totally understand how people fly through and like things they see. Most of them probably actually DO like it. I guess the main frustration was posting things that only get likes and from there it’s hard to gauge what people actually thought.

      I hope you’re right about paying off the loans. As far as the store is going, its coming along. Starting to get the hang of it.

      Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

