First sale on ETSY

ETSY First Sale

Well… I have made my first sale. To my mother.

I have realized that when I go and buy something I look into the success that person/business has had before me and what people thought of it. So I needed a little help to start showing some activity at the store and my mom can always use a good photograph of mine.

As I think about what makes a small business something you want to buy from, it becomes more and more NOT a small business. Everything you have to put into it, all the things you have to worry about people thinking when they come there, having 1 bad review cripple you, etc. Basically it boils down to first impressions being you’re ONLY impressions. Especially online.

Think about when most of you go to Target. You don’t think about the credibility of the store or that one random item you pick off the shelf. You don’t call your friend asking if they liked their toothbrush they bought last month. Now, I realize I’m making a stretch in comparing the two and that Target is a time and time again proven store. But it is more about how the mind works when buying something – most of the time with every right to think that way. There is a check list we go through in our heads before purchasing something, Target has just proved themselves enough to allow us to enable the 1-click purchase.

This has been way more of a learning experience than I ever thought it would be. The best part so far is getting to connect with everyone and being pushed creatively and always finding new inspiration. Plus, it’s better than my pictures just sitting on my computer.

Side note: Stay turned for an updated macro posting. I think you’ll enjoy it.

@bluegiraffeimgs

http://www.etsy.com/shop/BlueGiraffeImages

www.bluegiraffeimages.com

And here is the print I sold my mom. It is of my sister at Malibu beach when she was visiting from Ohio.

Sister KCACO Malibu Beach

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

