Macro Photography | The Final Result

The Macro Experiment. Could a Lens Reversal Ring that cost less than $10 provide quality macro images.

Equipment: Canon 5D, Tamron Zoom Lens, and a Lens Reversal Ring.

Prologue: A few posts back I talked about a method that would convert any zoom lens into a legitimate macro lens. No filters, no magnifiers… all done through the lens. The method… turn it around and shoot through it backwards. It didn’t seem possible. The first tests I did were before the reversal ring so I had to hold it in front of the camera. It worked enough to convince me to spend $10.

Commence the experiment. I gathered random household objects (including my girlfriends eye – still very much attached to her) and a small light I had lying around. As I photographed and got the hang of it I became more and more excited. The lens created such a stylized look, not to mention got in very close just like any good macro lens should.

Conclusion: Worth it? Hell, it would be worth it if the ring cost $50. It’s an amazing style and gives you the ability to shoot with a macro lens. In some ways it might be better than a macro lens because you can just keep the ring in your back pocket while shooting and if you need to grab a quick macro shot just screw it on and flip it over.

Here are some images. These prints are slowly becoming available on my website [www.bluegiraffeimages.com] and on [etsy]. 50% OFF still going on for about another week. If you don’t see it – let me know and I’ll create a listing right away.

Was the experiment a success? Let me know what you think. Go and experiment yourself and let me know how it goes. Here is a link to the reversal ring I purchased but you will want to check the size of your filter thread for your specific lens.

I tweet @bluegiraffeimgs. Follow for special discounts and codes.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Macro Photography | The Final Result

  1. […] [click here] to see my macro photography and read a more in-depth description on the process. […]

Leave a Reply

